Declarations of Whiteness

In her Declarations of Whiteness: The Non-Performativity of Anti-Racism, Sara Ahmed argues that while race is performative (being an effect of racialization), anti-racism may not be. This is, saying in the case of anti-racism may not be equivalent to doing.

I am glad to hear this for my own reasons. One is personal: I am tired of hearing white people beat their breasts about how anti-racist they are, and then wincing as I watch them act. I am actually more comfortable with the mirror image of this situation: seeing people behave decently, even when I know their ideas are not one hundred percent advanced. Another, equally egocentric, is professional: I have a piece I have not known where to place, and which I could perhaps send to this journal.

This post, though, is intended to call attention to Ahmed’s article, which is worth reading.

Axé.

This entry was posted in Race. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Declarations of Whiteness

  1. Pingback: Declarations of Whiteness « Professor Zero

Leave a Reply

