For That Pesky ANZALDUA Paper

ANZALDUA edited a 2002 book This Bridge We Call Home: Radical Visions for Transformation, which is one of the things I have not read. On the advertisement I took these notes:

ANZALDUA is supposedly non unitary, as opposed to the stability of the melting pot. She has a late paper on seeing through the cracks, seeing in crisis states, and so on. She and many postcolonial theorists believe in the “third space,” and seem to presuppose a very great homogeneity which must be broken. My impression is that this is all actually fear of the Other, fear of the truly foreign, and that ultimately it all comes from a “first world” point of view. What if things are heterogeneous in the first place, keeps being my question, and why is everyone looking for commonalities rather than open themselves to difference?

I know that this is precisely what these “third space” people believe they are doing, and I know they would probably say it is I who keep proposing artificially stable identities. I don’t think so, but I cannot prove it yet; these are intuitions still; I need time to read more theory.

This entry was posted in Colonialisms, Créolité, Postmodernism, Subject Theory and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

