Cola de lagartija

In class we are reading Cola de lagartija and it is beautiful. Our weapons are letters, it says. And in my own novel we are trying to create a menacing atmosphere, a feeling of doom, the claustrophobia of being caught among competing pressures, and I realize it was never really I who said I should not be an academic. It was everyone else. Ask me even now: I still want to do high level research with political implications, and talk to humane and cosmopolitan people, spend time with sane adults. I have now watched two old lectures, one by Noam Chomsky and another by Judith Herman; I had professors like them; if I can be like them I will enjoy growing old.

This entry was posted in What Is A Scholar?, Working. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cola de lagartija

  1. Hattie says:

    Politics never grows old for me. I would sure like to win more, though.

  2. Z says:

    I wish so many younger people didn’t “hate politics.”

Leave a Reply

