Books and Films I Must Order

BOOKS

Bailey, Gauvin Alexander. The Andean Hybrid Baroque. [recommended by me]
Benjamin, Walter. The Moscow Diary. [recommended by Hattie]
Davis, Mike. City of Quartz. [recommended by me, reminder from Nicky]
de Botton, Alain. The Pleasures and Sorrows of Work. [recommended by Hattie]
Dorpat, Theodore. Gaslighting, the Double Whammy, Interrogation, and Other Methods of Covert Control in Psychotherapy and Analysis. [recommended by Jennifer]
Duncan, Robert. The HD Book. [recommended by me]
Ehrenreich, Barbara. Bright-Sided: How Positive Thinking is Undermining America. [recommended by Hattie]
Evans, Freddie Williams. Congo Square: African Roots in New Orleans [recommended by me, for my book]
Golash-Boza, Tanya Maria. Yo Soy Negro: Blackness in Peru. [recommended by me, for my book]
Groden, Michael, et al. (eds.). The Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism, 2d edition (2005) [suggested on Bemsha Swing]
Mayhew, Jonathan. Apocryphal Lorca. [recommended by me]
Perini, Mario. Modern Portuguese. [recommended by Nicky]
—. Talking Brazilian. [recommended by Amazon]
Rivera Garza, Cristina. La frontera más distante. [recommended by momo]
Thomas, Earl. A Grammar of Spoken Brazilian Portuguese. [recommended by Amazon]
Thomas, Bill. What Are Old People For? [suggested by Hattie]
Thomas and Turner, Clear and Simple as the Truth. [recommended by SMT]
VanPatten, Bill. From Input to Output. [recommended by me]

FILMS

Raoul Peck, Moloch Tropical

I keep updating this post, and moving it up in time. I have other posts like it and I must consolidate them. It is tagged “Book,” and I must keep everything tagged that way in mind. I must remember that I have finally discovered the starting point for this book — and nothing ever works for me until I have one of those. I must also adjust the widgets in this blog so as to make it searchable in more ways.

This entry was posted in What Is A Scholar?, Working and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Books and Films I Must Order

  1. Stringer Bell says:

    OK, don’t poo-poo this suggestion just because it’s TV. You simply have to watch ‘The Wire’.
    From Wikipedia:
    Each season of The Wire focuses on a different facet of the city of Baltimore. In chronological order they are: the illegal drug trade, the seaport system, the city government and bureaucracy, the school system, and the print news media. The large cast consists mainly of character actors who are little known for their other roles. Simon has said that despite its presentation as a crime drama, the show is “really about the American city, and about how we live together. It’s about how institutions have an effect on individuals. Whether one is a cop, a longshoreman, a drug dealer, a politician, a judge or a lawyer, all are ultimately compromised and must contend with whatever institution they are committed to.
    .
    .
    We are not selling hope, or audience gratification, or cheap victories with this show. The Wire is making an argument about what institutions—bureaucracies, criminal enterprises, the cultures of addiction, raw capitalism even—do to individuals. It is not designed purely as an entertainment. It is, I’m afraid, a somewhat angry show.”

    Give it a shot. You won’t regret it, I promise.

  2. Z says:

    OK, I will. It is actually something I’d like to see. I am assuming it comes on NetFlix. My greatest accomplishment in the last 24 hours is setting up a computer and monitor, dedicated, in a good location in the house, so that I can at last really watch movies again. I was/am so elated with this.

  3. Stringer Bell says:

    Yes, but not on ‘Watch Instantly’, so you’ll have to get the physical DVDs from Netflix.

  4. Z says:

    OK, I will get it together and put this in my queue! I am so happy to be able to watch films again.

Leave a Reply

