El survey peninsular

How do you teach the modern Peninsular survey?

I do not know modern Peninsular literature well enough to be comfortable with an anthology. I could teach with an anthology up through the 17th century, but an anthology + me from the 18th century forward would make for a thin course; I usually just teach
five representative works and their contexts, show a film or two, and refer students to anthologies and manuals for “coverage.”

For Spring 2013 I was thinking of working with just three representative authors, not representative works; GALDOS, LORCA, and PEDRERO were my ideas. Last night
though, thinking about VALLE INCLAN and the fascinating assignments I have made
in the past on him (i.e. rewrite this esperpento as a newspaper, with articles of different types on the characters and events), I started to wonder if I should not do more.

For the eighteenth century, we could study Spanish Louisiana and look at some of the
original documents we have about this. We could discuss Spanish Louisiana’s role in
the American Revolution and Napoleon’s activities here and in Spain.

Then we could do GALDOS and 1898 and LORCA and the Civil War and the movida.
What indispensable things would we be missing, according to you?

This entry was posted in What Is A Scholar?, Working. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to El survey peninsular

  1. Bécquer says:

    Other authors you might think of including: Pío Baroja, Unamuno, Machado, and, perhaps later 20th century works from Gaite, Matute, Cela, or Laforet. If you’re going to include film, I’d also include a section dedicated to art and painting in particular: depending how far back you’d like to go, you might include El Greco, Velázquez, Murillo Goya, Dalí, Picasso, and Miró.

  2. Z says:

    Gracias B! This is the menu I’m trying to get away from, the one I had in college and that feels so rote to me, but I guess I do need to add some of it back in. Great idea on explicitly pairing painting with film, or having a section on art per se rather than using it as background!!!

  3. Z says:

    Here’s how Swarthmore does this course – apparently it is as an introduction to genres, but still. http://www.swarthmore.edu/Humanities/mguardi1/espanol_11/programa.html#textos

    I’d like an anthology perhaps, one that goes to the 21st century, and that isn’t that thrown together David William Foster thing.

  4. Z says:

    I’ve had this book as an exam copy at some point, and it also seemed sort of dull. Perhaps it’s me –
    http://www.amazon.com/Literatura-Espanola-antologia-actualidad-Spanish/dp/0815320647

  5. Z says:

    And this doesn’t look too bad, either, for the 19th century.

  6. Z says:

    This also looks good – why did it go out of print – !

Leave a Reply

