Gibson’s Spain in America

I am recycling my photocopies as we have two copies of the first edition of this book in our very own library, in hard cover. Others are for sale used, although the book is out of print. I have kept the photocopies as fetish objects.

I like the typeface of this book. I like seeing that the series it is in was edited by Henry Steele Commager. I like this book, even its photocopy, as an object that creates continuity with the past.

I like the chapter titles, too: Conquest, Encomienda, Church, State…. but I am cleaning files, and some things must go.

This entry was posted in Colonialisms. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

