And plan this

For that class I will do this and add more. http://www.columbia.edu/cu/spanish/courses/spanish3330/programa.html (Or perhaps not do that, if I have enough other material that I think the students can really handle.)

I will use some of those documentaries we bought, put in the library, and forgot.

We will read O’Gorman forward, Dussell, Mignolo, and so on.

Also Martí, Ortiz, and so on. (Shall I start earlier than Martí with foundational essays?)

And I will concentrate on that avant-garde period and antecendents and aftermath.

And we will have Vasconcelos, Anzaldúa, and the Plan Espiritual de Aztlán.

***

Day 1: introduction, the Hispanic “race,” discussion of race, “por la raza hablará el espíritu,” “día de la raza”
Day 2: Hispanic: language and religion, grammar, el impacto de la letra: Piedra
Day 3: [Rama, oder nicht?]

***

To be continued. Should we read the Reino de este mundo? Probably. We could have both it AND the Ríos profundos. Ríos profundos is literally about being forced into Hispanism.

Mariátegui, and this for indigenismo.

This entry was posted in Working. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to And plan this

  1. Z says:

    Does anyone have ideas on alternatives to the final research paper, for a senior/graduate class in a university where students in such classes are more at what I would call junior level? I am already ordering books and materials corresponding to my idea of junior level (I have only attended élite schools and I did so in the past). I would normally have some graduate type assignments including a research project, presentation, paper, and I do like these but not as a culminating exercise. I am thinking of a one-page formal paper (not just a journal entry) every week, that I seriously grade, and one or more book reviews like what some history professors assign, and a research presentation that requires citing at least x number of our common readings. And then the paper for the presentation is 7-8 pages not longer, and is accompanied by an annotated bibliography and an abstract. What do you think?
    LikeLike ·

    Kyla Wazana Tompkins I have them do a syllabus organized around a research project they would like to pursue. I can send you the assignment sheet if you want.
    49 mins · Unlike · 2

  2. Z says:

    What about having them compile the weekly papers and/or other work in to a portfolio, and give them the opportunity to rewrite them based on your feedback? Not sure if that would be a valuable exercise for your discipline, but I feel like the revision/rewriting process can help students with critical thinking and developing their ideas more fully.
    49 mins · Unlike · 1
    Kyla Wazana Tompkins It is, by the way, heavily annotated with a short paper in the beginning.
    49 mins · Unlike · 1
    Miriam Elizabeth Burstein I had students do a multimedia annotation project last year, which was interesting and worked fairly well (they took a poem/short text, glossed it, added links to relevant images & video, etc.).
    48 mins · Unlike · 2
    Nicholas Jordan I’ve taken to assigning the primary writing assignment as an essay-based take home Midterm. I typically give 4-5 questions, and have them choose 2 and write 4-5 pages each, with cites, etc. I usually give them a week.

    To me, this is more applicable to the real world, where they’ll have resources, but a limited amount of time to turn in high quality work.
    47 mins · Unlike · 1
    Leslie Bary Thank you Kyla Wazana Tompkins! I have done that before although would still love to see your assignment sheet. These students will not be advanced enough to do this in a meaningful way, though. Portfolio, mais oui, toujours. Revision/rewriting, …See More

    • Z says:

      I periodically teach an Irish Studies class, and ALL their writing has to be integrative. So when I’m done with a specific time period or topic their essays have to take a theme (gender, class, family dynamics, religion, politics, whatever) and illustr…See More
      15 mins · Unlike · 1
      Leslie Bary Hmm, I could do that too, Sean Williams. 4-6 papers, all integrative, more or less like Comp. Lit. 1A at Berkeley (back in the day version, at least) — a model I have often told myself is in fact good for all college courses. Hmmm…

  3. Z says:

    Leslie Bary Thank you Kyla Wazana Tompkins! I have done that before although would still love to see your assignment sheet. These students will not be advanced enough to do this in a meaningful way, though. Portfolio, mais oui, toujours. Revision/rewriting, …See More
    49 mins · Like
    Leslie Bary Nicholas Jordan, yes, this also works for me, here, and not just because it is “real-world.” I am not sure why I had not thought of it yet for this class. I have done midterm AND final this way. OK, so how about this: take-home midterm and final, and reading journal, and research presentation? And forget the book reviews … or make the presentation BE a contextualized book review … ?
    45 mins · Like
    Leslie Bary Miriam Elizabeth Burstein, oh yes. I have wanted to do this in literature classes and have not (the course in question is on cultural theory). I wonder, maybe I can have this at least as an option.
    42 mins · Like
    Nicholas Jordan I typically have them do a 4-5 page comparative analysis on 2 news articles covering a topic from class, specifically analyzing the framing and fact checking the claims made. But, I teach Sociology, so this may not be as applicable to like English or H…See More
    41 mins · Unlike · 1
    Nicholas Jordan I have them do a presentation of the findings of the news article, btw.
    40 mins · Unlike · 1
    Leslie Bary I could do something this, Nicholas Jordan — it is a Latin American Studies class, I am technically in literature and cultural theory but the class is under a culture rubric and is called “Latin American Identities.” The presentations would be lively. And I could build following the news into the course. Hmmm… this is getting exciting!
    30 mins

  4. Z says:

    Kyla Wazana Tompkins It is, by the way, heavily annotated with a short paper in the beginning.
    53 mins · Unlike · 1
    Miriam Elizabeth Burstein I had students do a multimedia annotation project last year, which was interesting and worked fairly well (they took a poem/short text, glossed it, added links to relevant images & video, etc.).
    51 mins · Unlike · 2
    Nicholas Jordan I’ve taken to assigning the primary writing assignment as an essay-based take home Midterm. I typically give 4-5 questions, and have them choose 2 and write 4-5 pages each, with cites, etc. I usually give them a week.

    To me, this is more applicable to the real world, where they’ll have resources, but a limited amount of time to turn in high quality work.

  5. Z says:

    What about an annotated bibliography combined with some kind of presentation or short paper, to help give them some of the research skills they evidently need?
    3 mins · Unlike · 1
    Leslie Bary Yes, Dana Luciano. I should consider this. I have kind of given up on it until after the M.A., as before that they seem not to have the reading and writing skills they need to be able to do anything that incisive. It is also a little drier than what I want as an exercise for this class. But it is a good idea.

    • Z says:

      I once had students do a class-wide linked subject bibliography (each one assigned to a subtopic area) using Zotero to facilitate sharing. Some of the stuff they found was pretty interesting.
      2 mins · Unlike · 1
      Leslie Bary This is a great idea, Dana Luciano. I will have to seriously think about it.

      • Z says:

        ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHY that goes through several drafts, gets workshopped like a paper.

        Other assignments: things like this —

        Odd, since I repeatedly said ‘do not write a paper, you are not writing a paper, I do not want a paper’. No, what I wanted was 3 primary sources on the same topic, summarized, and then a single paragraph on why the student chose those three, and what they say about the topic. I gave them a website to go to (halsall’s sourcebooks), showed them how to find a topic, and how to work with the sources. And yet…this.

        I will say, however, that it has cut down on the grading, because guess what? Any that don’t follow the directions get an automatic 50 and that’s it. End of discussion.

  6. Z says:

    I second Dana Luciano’s suggestion of annotated bibs and presentation. I do these as group projects, but you could make it individual if you’d prefer.

  7. Z says:

    What are your pedagogical objectives for the class? How should students be able to demonstrate their learning at the end?
    20 hrs · Unlike · 2
    Lindsay Kelley i like the annotated bibliography. especially if you made them use a program like endnote to compile it, so they learn about that too…yr ref desk sounds whack!
    5 hrs · Unlike · 1
    Leslie Bary Good question, Tamara Fish. They are those of a senior seminar except that I know students will not really be ready for that nor will the library, and I have decided to at least begin with what I would call a late sophomore to early junior level survey book for these reasons … and am trying to find an alternative to the traditional research paper. Ideally, they would learn much on topic, broadly, then know enough to usefully work on a particular issue, develop ideas, write paper. But I know this may be asking too much, hence my search for alternatives, and this is leading more and more toward the annotated bibliography, Lindsay Kelley. (Part of the reason they cannot do what I would like in papers is that they cannot do these bibliographies, and I am afraid to assign these because this exercise has been too hard in the past. So OBVIOUSLY the bibliography has to be part of this and it has to be collective and in Zotero or something (Endnote you have to buy, right?) so we can get around the too-hard issue.

  8. Z says:

    AND:

    Looking for critical work on Gloria Anzaldúa, things that are not just honorific readings. (My claims are that she is more radical with use of language than anything else; and yet that Borderlands is about gender/sexuality first and race/borderlands second. ALL I have ever found is honorific reading and never a sympathetic or left political critique, and I would be interested to see one.)
    LikeLike ·

    Scout Calvert likes this.
    Trevor Boffone Check out the El Mundo Zurdo edited collections from Aunt Lute. Those include a large mix in scholarship. Check out “Feminism on the Border” by Sonia Saldivar-Hull as well.
    20 hrs · Unlike · 1
    Leslie Bary Gracias, Trevor Boffone. She seems so like a regular US feminist to me, from South American pov it looks like common American identity search. There is also something about the use of Native American symbols that seems self serving, I cannot put my finger on it but these things nag at me and I am not saying them from a right wing p.o.v. I will look where you say.

  9. Z says:

    Anthropologist Pablo Vila has done work on the US Mexico border which critiques the idea that borderland identity is fluid — he was directly influenced by Anzaldua, as he discusses in his books. He basically argues against Anzaldua.
    17 hrs · Unlike · 1
    Tracy Brown I haven’t re-read Anzaldua in some time, but can’t remember thinking her use of Native American symbols or ideas was self-serving. I mean, in the Southwest at least, the relationship between people of Hispanic and Native American descent is fraught (obviously). And obviously, her primary concern was not people of Native descent; they always seemed to be an afterthought in her work to me. It also seemed ironic to me to discuss the troubled relationship between whites and Hispanics on the US-Mexico border, but pretty much ignore the relationship between Hispanics and Native Americans.
    17 hrs · Unlike · 1
    Leslie Bary Tracy Brown, thank you! Pablo Vila, excellent, I will look for him. Native American symbols, yes, my thoughts go in that direction. I think (a) mixed identities are not a solution to everything and (b) just because you may have one oppressed identity (e.g. gay) does not necessarily mean you will feel solidarity with other ones (e.g. persons of color).
    16 hrs · Like
    Victoria A. Genetin Today is/was GEA’s birthday, btw. (just a side note)
    15 hrs · Unlike · 3
    Leslie Bary How *bizarre* that I brought this up now. (I know why, of course — textbook orders and some other teaching things — but still.)
    15 hrs · Unlike · 1
    Victoria A. Genetin right?! I thought it was, too. I’d 2nd _El Mundo Zurdo_ as suggested above. Have you read her text _Interviews/Entrevistas_? if not, that might help you further articulate your critiques. She was one of 2 theorists central to my dissertation research.

  10. Z says:

    I haven’t, but it’s sort of first on my list. Do you think it is passé to teach her, Victoria A. Genetin? I used to in 90s, during the hybridity craze. I’m now thinking of doing her plus critique, with Vasconcelos and the Plan Espiritual de Aztlán, as a unit in a course this spring.
    15 hrs · Like · 1
    Christopher Larkosh I have an article posted on academia in which I place her in the context of cultural and literary dimensions of San Francisco, if that is any help.
    14 hrs · Unlike · 1
    Trevor Boffone It is absolutely not passe to teach Anzaldua! There is an entire society and conference devoted to the study of her, not to mention that her archive is the most used one at the UT Benson Collections. She is highly influential to the current generation of Chican@/Latin@/Border Studies scholars and writers so this growing influence should not be ignored. … definitely keep her in there!
    14 hrs · Unlike · 5
    Victoria A. Genetin totally agree w/ Trevor. ^
    14 hrs · Unlike · 3
    Victoria A. Genetin The GEA archive is pretty impressive! And I’ve presented at the GEA conference twice.
    14 hrs · Unlike · 2
    Trevor Boffone Sidenote – Victoria A. Genetin – Are you submitting for next year? Hope to see you there!….the archive is insane! I was a research fellow there last summer. There is so much more to be studied and unearthed. More work to do!
    14 hrs · Unlike · 1
    Leslie Bary OK so yes, growing influence there, so from that p.o.v., good. I put a course title “Latin American Identities” and now have to remember what I meant when I said this. The idea is to unpack that concept “Latin.”

  11. Z says:

    …but Trevor Boffone do you really think she is major, or niche, or just used as major because has convenient themes? I know about the society and all but all A.’s points seem so basic, or just so done, and so US liberal and so multiculturalism/identity politics bound. I wonder whether I am uncharitable just because everything GEA talks about is already so familiar to me, but her things seem so scripted, as if written to fit a certain kind of school curriculum. Or am I not giving her enough credit? Also, Mignolo has now decided she is a key example of “decoloniality,” which makes me really wonder, because I think decoloniality is a fuzzy category and I am also not at all convinced by his version of “border thinking.” I guess, though, to answer these questions I really should re-study in context of current indigenous movements and Lat Am versions of multiculturalism and alternatives to identity politics. And a few more things, nationalisms, post nationalisms.

  12. Z says:

    AND I will use the 2009 Sánchez Prado article on Vasconcelos for sure, and I may use Balún Canán just because it is familiar, I should read more new things but. (I was considering Eltit)

    AND YES I will start with Bolívar, because Vasconcelos is sort of bringing him to fruition. And we will NOT bog down in Sarmiento although we will talk about him.

  13. Z says:

    The flyer says:

    “Por mi raza hablará el espíritu”
    –José Vasconcelos, motto and coat of arms, Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México

    What is Latin? Latino/a? Hispanic? Spanish? Spanish American? Latin American? Chicano? Tejano? Americano? What are the historical origins of these terms? Are “Latins” a race? Is there a “Latin” color? A single “Latin” culture? Why do these questions matter? This course will explore formations of cultural identity in modern and contemporary Latin America, taking into account their colonial sources as well as origins and parallels in the Iberian Peninsula.

    Readings from Gloria Anzaldúa, José María Arguedas, Simón Bolívar, Alejo Carpentier, Rosario Castellanos, Enrique Dussell, José Carlos Mariátegui, José Martí, Walter Mignolo, Fernando Ortiz, Edmundo O’Gorman, José Piedra, Angel Rama, José Vasconcelos, and other essayists and cultural theorists. Films to include Fusco, The Couple in the Cage, dos Santos, Como era gostoso o meu francês, and other documentary work.

    Workload includes active participation in class discussion, two weekly entries in a reading journal, quiz and take-home essay at midterm, final exam; annotated bibliography and research presentation in the second half of the term. Research presentations will include a written abstract and handout. Graduate and Honors contracts will develop a conference paper (8-10pp.) or short journal article (12-15pp.) and with guidance, locate a venue for its submission.

  14. Z says:

    Books ordered from store:

    SPANISH 451

    Author: Anzaldúa, Gloria
    Title: Borderlands/La Frontera
    Publisher: Aunt Lute
    ISBN: 978-1879960855

    Author: Arguedas, José María
    Title: Los ríos profundos
    Publisher: Cátedra
    ISBN: 978-8437613215

    Author: Carpentier, Alejo
    Title: El reino de este mundo
    Publisher: Alianza
    ISBN: 978-84-206-0965-2

    Author: Las Casas, Bartolomé
    Title: Brevísima relación de la destrucción de las Indias
    Publisher: Cátedra
    ISBN: 9788437603414

    Author: Castellanos, Rosario
    Title: Balún-Canán
    Publisher: Fondo de Cultura Económica
    ISBN: 978-9681683030

    Author: Mignolo, Walter
    Title: La idea de América Latina
    Publisher: Gedisa
    ISBN: 9788497840941

    Author: Vasconcelos, José
    Title: La raza cósmica
    Publisher: Johns Hopkins UP
    ISBN: 978-0801856556

  15. Z says:

    More fragmentary notes:

    University of Louisiana at Lafayette

    Spring 2015

    SPANISH 451(G)

    TUESDAY

    What cultures and identities do terms like “Latin,” “Latino,” “Hispanic,” and “Spanish” refer to? What is the history of these terms, or how were these identities formed? What do the terms reveal, conceal … or even confuse? What about other terms like indohispano and novohispano, criollo, peninsular and americano? What are tejano, chicano, hispanoamericano?

    What happens to indigenous, women, other non hegemonic identities?

    We will explore these questions reading classic texts from the Hispanic world, focusing primarily on Lat Am but also including Spain (Baroja, Unamuno, Ortega y Gasset)

    Perspective of critical race theory!!!

Leave a Reply

