Gathering my thoughts

That Goodrich article “From Barbarism to Civilization: Travels of a Latin American Text,” from ALH years ago, is one of those ancient articles I have in xerox and never recycle. My notes say it is important for Orientalist sources, oriental sources in María. I will think about this, or look at Orientalism in Latin America more broadly.

This piece is about Facundo and his U.S. connections, which included Horace Mann, and his French ones — for Facundo was popular in France because it supported colonial designs, and Sarmiento used Orientalist tropes to describe the pampas he had never seen and also to render them familiar in Europe.

(I am still not used to the idea that I can recycle this old xerox and surely download a PDF of the article.)

I also keep carrying around pieces of Hobsbawm’s Nations and Nationalism, and should just carry the book. The other piece that appears to matter is Lee Skinner, Martyrs of Miscegenation, about nineteenth century representations of colonial history, and I will get the book in question.

Other texts I would like to see are Anne Fountain, José Martí, The United States, and Race (new from Florida) and Wickstrom and Young, eds., Mestizaje and Globalization (new from Arizona).

In our library we have Basadre, and I will check him out. We have Anzaldúa’s Entrevistas, and there is a new book of Anzaldúa fragments out, Light in the Dark, edited by AnaLouise Keating (Duke), and there is the Gloria Anzaldúa Reader. I am the only person who does not find her particularly interesting or original, and I only seem to like her in class — students truly dislike her and I find myself making impassioned explanations. As I hear myself speak, I realize there is more to her than I give credit for.

Also in our library is Schmidt-Nowara, The Conquest of History, which I need to read in part because it discusses different models of nation. I must also get Segregated Miscegenation from a library.

This entry was posted in Colonialisms, Identity, Primitivisms, Race, Siglo XIX. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

